Cashew “Cream”

This cashew “cream” can be modified to serve as a substitute for heavier dairy products ranging from half-and-half to heavy cream (and it’s easy!!!). What I mean when I say coconut fat: open a can of coconut milk (DO NOT SHAKE THE CAN); the thick, white “fat” on the top is what you want. Coconut cream is the same, it just has more in the can but, in my experience, is not as common in stores.

Ingredients

  • 6 oz Unsalted Cashews (I prefer roasted, but you can use raw)
  • 3 cups Water
  • 2-6 Tbsp Coconut Fat (2 for half-and-half, 6 for heavy cream)
  • 1 tsp Sugar

Directions

  1. Add ingredients to a high power blender and blend on high for about 40 seconds (I use the Vitamix “Smoothie” program).
  2. I don’t bother with nut bags for cashew milks, but if you want a little extra refinement in your end product, you can strain the small amount of sediment that might remain.


Comments

Leave a comment